Starting the week strong…Jicama. ~By: Steph

I have to confess, last week when my Big Guy was out of town, I had some pretty crappy carbs.  At least once a day. You noticed that “At least once” part right? This week I am rededicated to my chosen way of eating.  So far, so good.

Hubby is home, kids are home for Spring Break.  Daycare is in overflow mode. I am peachy.  Oh, and the pool is no longer green! I am not sure how that plays into things but, it just lightens my mood to know we have destroyed the mosquitos procreation playground.  This week I have cleaned out 3 closets and a storage cabinet.  I have overfilled the trash and recycle containers. This morning, I showered and did my hair…okay that shouldn’t be an accomplishment but, some days it is. I have created a couple of healthy meal options for myself and stocked up on plums, avocados, mangos, salad stuff (haven’t even touched it lol), and fresh meal options.  This week is a win as of now.

You know how you search on Pinterest for 16 hours until you look like a zombie and need to wipe the drool off of your chin?  Me neither.  When I do occasionally spend a moment on Pinterest, I pin all kinds of recipes that I never use.  I hate recipes btw.  I love ideas, hate rules. Hmm…it is entirely possible that my children don’t take after their dad after all.  Anyhow, I bought mangos, avocados, red onions, jalapenos and jicama to play around with this week. Oh and plums to just eat because, well…I like plums.

The mango, avocado, red onion got combined with some poached chicken breast and cilantro, this made a yummy salad.  I threw a dressing together with a little nonfat, plain Greek yogurt, lime juice, cumin, chipotle chile powder, salt and pepper.  Folded it into the chicken salad and instant yumminess occurred.  It tastes fresh and summery.  Of course I waited until the actual day that the 80 degree weather disappeared and the 60’s returned, to make this summery treat.  It was still good! I was trying to think of a less sugary fruit to sub in for the mango.  I considered blueberries and apples but, wasn’t sure I was feeling them with the dressing I decided on.  I do think you could add some slivered almonds for a little crunch.

PhotoGrid_1458690324826

As for the jicama, I pondered baking it.  I have heard several people talking about cooking them lately.  I’m not sure how I feel about warm jicama. I’ve always had it raw and crisp. I decided to throw a slaw together.  Julienned about 4 cups of jicama, 1 large carrot, 1/4 of a red onion and 1/2 of a large jalapeno.  I dressed it really simply with 2 Tbl of fresh lime juice, 1 Tbl olive oil, cumin and chipotle chile powder.  Sprinkled with salt to taste and combined it with the slaw. I know it seems like a very minimal amount of dressing but, I don’t like heavily dressed slaw. I pop this all in a zipper bag and toss to combine.  Let it marinate in the fridge for an hour or so and then put it in a bowl for serving.  Next time I plan on using a granny smith apple in that mix. I only had a mushy, mealy apple and decided to pass on it.  Have I mentioned my joy at having an amazing peeler that makes these perfect little match sticks?

PhotoGrid_1458690471916

Two successful dishes and I’m glad I made them.

Serving the jicama slaw with a chuck tender roast that I cooked all day in the slow cooker with some spicy seasonings a cup of water and a can of Rotel.  I may add some pinto beans into the mix after I shred the meat up. I like to just put the shredded meat on my plate and top with some of the jicama slaw.    BTW, if you don’t know what a chuck tender roast is and have shied away from chuck roast due to the fat and calories, this is a must try!

4 oz. of chuck tender roast is; 160 cals, 6 fat, and 23 protein.

4 oz. of regular chuck roast is; 260 cals, 19 fat and 21 protein.

2016-03-23 16.12.14

Isn’t that pretty?  Okay so I am completely insane and had to go throw a plate together to show you the finished product.  I then put the slaw in a tiny bowl and the meat/beans (oh, yep I added pinto beans) back in the slow cooker.  It is nowhere near dinner time! Oh, do you love my appetizer plate as much as I do?  Found it on clearance at Target for $1.98.  I grabbed it and a tangerine colored version of the same plate.  Yes, I know I’m easily entertained but, this made me very smiley. 🙂 What doesn’t make me smiley is my old grungy grout. Don’t judge me…I do actually clean it ALL THE TIME!

Hope you play with your food a little this week and cook up something yummy and protein rich!

I end with this…JICAMA…just because, jicama is fun to say and I always say these words in my head as I type them 😉 JICAMA

 

Leave a Reply

