Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte ripoff ~By Steph

zz.png

I’m pretty boring, when it comes to what I choose to drink.  95% of the time, it is water, herbal tea or something with protein in it.  Those are my chosen drinks.  So when I get a Starbucks craving I generally grab a trenta Green Tea with no syrup and one Splenda (although I like Truvia better). Then there are those days when I just want a little caffeine and a treat.  Starbucks skinny lattes have some protein, the calories aren’t bad, the carbs are pretty iffy for me and the sugars are high but, my main objection is that I am cheap and I don’t want to pay $56 for a coffee drink thingy mabobby.  Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Iced Lattes are my absolute favorite thing from this joint.  So, if you’d like to bring me one I’ll put my address in this post…okay, maybe not.  My inability to part with obscene amounts of money for a coffee, have inspired me to make my own.  Here is my version and it’s pretty close to the real thing.

This makes three, 24 oz. mason jars for me. I usually drink half and save half for later.

-6 cups of strong brewed coffee (I add a dash of cinnamon & nutmeg to the grounds)

-3 cups of Silk Unsweetened Cashew milk

-1 tsp of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend (you can use any sweetener you prefer)

-6 pumps of a sugar free cinnamon brown sugar, cinnamon vanilla, or vanilla syrup if you don’t have a cinnamon one If using the vanilla, add extra cinnamon to the coffee until it tastes like you like it.

-1 scoop of chocolate protein powder and one scoop of cinnamon protein powder (or one choc and one vanilla)

-6 TBL light whipped topping (spray can type is my favorite)

-1 tsp Hershey’s sugar free chocolate syrup

Brew coffee, add brown sugar, mix and let cool.  Blend protein powders into cashew milk until smooth. Add protein/milk mixture to cooled coffee.  Pump sf cinnamon syrup into the coffee and stir. Divide into 3 servings. I use mason jars and store the iced coffee in the fridge.  Pop a few ice cubes in, shake well, add whipped cream if desired and top with a tiny drizzle of sf Hershey’s chocolate.  Enjoy.

Nutritional info for one 24 oz. serving, includes 2 TBL whipped topping and 1/3 tsp sf chocolate sauce. Good hit of protein, low carbs, low sugar and the only fat is from the cashew milk.

111 calories, 14 protein, 4 carbs, 3 sugar, 3 fat, 0 fiber

If Starbucks had a 24 oz. serving  (no whip or chocolate syrup) it would have:

120 calories, 11 protein, 18 carbs, 15 sugar, 0 fat, 0 fiber

 

Leave a Reply

