C25K update, confession time, and chicken soup for the…tummy! By: Steph

.facebook_-1364505000
First things first, last night Joe and I went out to do C25K training. I had been away from it for over a month and thought I could just pick right back up where I left off. Guess what? I was incredibly wrong and I am paying for my lack of exercise lately. I am back to week two and basically starting over. My co-blogger mentioned I needed to get conditioned to run again. I think it’s more I need to get a really large dog to chase me while drooling and snarling!

I have many a confession to make friends. I have been floundering for the past month or two. I have some really strong days and then just give up and go back to my old ways and old thought processes. I haven’t been eating right, I haven’t been exercising and I haven’t had the right attitude about any of it.

I was stuck at the same weight for a couple of months and got really discouraged. I knew I was eating well and exercising so I couldn’t get over the idea that I was stalled. I finally got to the point where I just chucked it all and gave up on myself and the positive changes I have made. I am here to be accountable. I am here to show others that there is no such thing as the “easy” way out of this weight I’ve carried my whole life. So if I’m going to do that, I need to be honest with myself and with you my throngs of readers…okay my 3-4 readers! 🙂

I have sometime in the past 6 weeks put on 10 pounds. I have a feeling about 4 of it is a lack of water and hydration. I see it on my face and on my skin. That still leaves about 6 pounds of regain. I have been falling back into the habit of grazing and eating whatever I want whenever I get the desire for it and pushing my tummy’s limits. I make healthy meals and then ignore them after a few bites because, I want carby, sugary goodness. However, carby, sugary goodness leaves me feeling like a blob. A blob with a headache and who feels icky in general. I crave protein but, when I start eating it there is no satisfaction because, I’ve gotten so used to the junk I’ve been allowing myself.

I miss exercising more than I ever had imagined I would. I am putting this all out here so that it keeps me accountable. I have always been way more worried about letting others down than I have been about letting myself down. That isn’t a good thing but, it’s an honest evaluation of myself. I need you guys. I need you to question what I’m eating and ask if I got my workout in.

I now have a reliable C25K buddy in my husband and he will motivate me to stick with it. I went shopping this morning and grabbed some healthier choices than what I have allowed in the house lately. I am starting fresh again. I took that time and made some homemade chicken and veggie soup for my lunch today. There is no excuse for not eating well. I hope to be able to report on next Tuesday that I have retrained myself to make good, healthy decisions. If I don’t you have my permission to hunt me down and play me rap music until I scream for mercy and renounce empty carbs and sloth!

Ok a quickie recipe…

Quick Chicken & Veggie Soup

7.5 oz. diced boneless skinless chicken breast (sautéed in 1 tsp. evoo with a little Italian seasoning, salt and pepper)
1 cup diced carrots
1 cup diced celery
1 cup diced potato
1/3 cup frozen French cut green beans
3 cups low sodium chicken broth
1/2 can diced tomatoes with basil and oregano
2 cloves minced garlic
3 oz. brown mushrooms sliced
salt, pepper to taste

Set cooked chicken aside and in a medium sauce pan add carrots to garlic into pan. Bring to a simmer and season to taste. Simmer for 15 mins or until potatoes are cooked through but, still firm. Add mushrooms and simmer 1 minute longer. Add diced chicken and warm through.

Ta-da you did it…now divide it into 4 individual cups and you have a quick and hearty lunch or dinner. It’s really yummy, filling and satisfying. The carbs are the good kind and you can feel good about eating it because, you controlled the sodium.

Serves 4, nutritional info per serving:
140 cals, 14 carbs, 2 fat, 15 protein, 4 fiber, 5 sugar

2 comments on “C25K update, confession time, and chicken soup for the…tummy! By: Steph

  1. Good on you for keeping yourself accountable on this blog! That takes strength.

    You know, this is just a pause. You’re not starting over, completely from scratch. You already started your good habits of exercising and eating healthy, so you know it can be done. This is just a break in the habit: it’s not the end of it!

    FYI, I’ve nominated you for the Bouquet of Three Award: http://ontheroadtobeinghappy.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/i-got-nominated-for-an-award/

    Take care!

    Like

    • hootfish says:

      Thank you for the nomination and for taking to time to leave this motivational comment!

      I sometimes forget to look at the “I’m making the changes, even if I stumble now and then”, aspect of this journey!

      ~Steph

      Like

Leave a Reply

