Couch25K Update

hare

Hello. Today I will complete day three of week three in my try to be able to run quest. This week the schedule is a 5 minute brisk walk and then the following jog/walk combinations: 90-90-90-90-180-180-180-180.

So far it has not really been hard at all. Of course when not used to running even 5 seconds there is a mental adjustment to make. Past that so far so good.

One obstacle that I have needed to overcome is feeling like a moron doing it at all. I guess I just feel too big and too awkward still, being out there running. People may or may not be looking at me with a WTF kind of deal. Inside me I am pretty sure they are. In the end though I have decided I do not care all that much.

I should be clear that when I say running I am not talking about any kind of speed at all. If we compared it to the old classic story about the tortoise and the hare that could work. The hare is not even worth discussing and the tortoise wants to know what the hell is taking me so long. Not a big deal though as my goal is simply this. On July 20th I will start a “race” running, I will travel 3.2 miles and finish it running and I will not stop in between. We will worry about speed and times later on if things go sweetly.

Now that I have acted all cocky about successfully completing three minutes of running a few times I should say this. Looking ahead on my training schedule I am almost completely overwhelmed. That thing says I need to jog five minutes three times in day one of the week and TWENTY minutes IN A ROW on day three. (Week 5) One way or the other I am going to do that. I promise you I will not be coming on here talking about how easy it was. Cheers. -Clint

One comment on “Couch25K Update

  1. I’ve only just started the Couch to 5K program… and your sentence “the tortoise wants to know what the hell is taking me so long” is the perfect way to put it!

    It’s good to know that others are feeling a little overwhelmed as well 🙂

    Take care!

    Like

Leave a Reply

