Rocky Bleier Trumps Rocky Rococo

rocky

Anyone who has lost a large amount of weight gets asked many times, how did you do it? I am happy to tell the way I am approaching this journey. Many have tried to follow a similar plan. It has worked for some and it has not for others.

While not an expert I am fairly positive there are 100’s of suitable ways to do this. In the end it all comes down to motivation. I think it is really that simple.

For me it started simply by thinking about the awful position I put myself in with regard to health and a future that was not going to be very bright. The day I decided……really decided this time, to make a change for the remainder of my life, I remembered a book I read when I was a little kid.

The book was “Fighting Back: The Rocky Bleier Story” It tells the story of Rocky Bleier, who, after becoming a running back for the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1968 was then drafted by the U.S. Army during the Vietnam War. Injured by a bullet to the thigh and a hand grenade to the lower right leg, Rocky is told that he will never walk again. Not only does he walk again after a long rehabilitation, Rocky returns to train with the Steelers. With the sympathy and support of Steelers’ owner, Art Rooney, Rocky makes the team again, and helps the Steelers become Super Bowl champions.

I also have a connection to this story because my pops cut his hair when Rocky was in high school. Dad is kind of like Floyd the barber from the Andy Griffith Show but a lot cooler. So that story made a big impression on me.

Now obviously being 366 pounds overweight isn’t the same as getting your leg blown off fighting for your country. It is simply a terrific feat accomplished by a great American hero. That is pretty damn inspiring in my eyes.

I have been living healthy for about 2 and a half years now. I still think about the idea of what he did on a weekly basis. Helps me stay on track and has helped put me in position to finish my dreams.

My point is it seems to me that people were made to overcome the obstacles in their lives. It just takes a desire to do so and a little help from people that support them. At one point the whole equation became easy in my eyes. That is when I knew this time was different.

In whatever you strive for or want, I hope you look for a way to get there. Look under rocks and into closed doors and find something to inspire you.

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way. Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. Begin it now.” – William H Murray

“I am terrific but don’t worry because soon I will get better.” – Zig Ziglar

“People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily” — Zig Ziglar

“We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing” – George Bernard Shaw

“Those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything” -George Bernard Shaw

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent” – Eleanor Roosevelt

“Is a dream a lie that don’t come true? Or is it something worse?” – Bruce Springsteen

Not to get all preachy but it is obvious that obesity is a huge problem in the United States and this thought just popped in the old head that kind of illustrates the issue at least for me. I would speculate that many of you did not even know who Rocky Bleier was before reading this. I have no doubt that every single person (including me) knows who Rocky Rococo is.

Strange but true.

Thanks for reading and have a sweet day! – Clint

One comment on “Rocky Bleier Trumps Rocky Rococo

  1. Overboard_Eater says:

    This was a great post. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

