Sweet Potatoes:Truth in Advertising!

100_0231

Hello. I guess I have a story for everything. Sweet Potatoes do not escape that fact. Four months back I was watching the food network trying to increase my limited culinary knowledge. Executive chef Bobby Flay said the sweet potato is the most nutritious item in your pantry.

I am one of those analytical types. I immediately thought…..whoa, you are so very wrong Mr. Flay and I am not even talking about the fact that I do not have a pantry. I have not eaten a sweet potato since 1987 at a Christmas shindig at Grandma’s house. It was gross and so I moved on to other life decisions. Hence they are not in my house.

I then reasoned with myself. Bobby Flay guess starred on HBO’s “Entourage” one season and that show was awesome. Perhaps I should listen to this guy.

I purchased one of these fine potatoes and cooked it like a common baked potato and it was still pretty gross. Thankfully I am not the quitting type. I searched for sweet potato french fries. All the recipes called for a whole bunch of olive oil. I remembered back to my Food Network learning and recalled somebody saying olive oil was by volume one of the worst ingredients possible from a health standpoint.

Being somewhat of a math guy I easily figured out how stupid that would be. Kind of like putting hot fudge on a salad I suppose.

With the help of mommy I began to experiment. It did not take to long to come up with the final product. Here is how you do it. After peeling the potatoes chop them up to look like french fries. Spray with that healthy canola oil stuff in the picture. Season with something that is not salt. I use either one of the lovely Mrs. Dash offerings or this pepper blend I found at Fleet Farm two rows over from the fishing supplies. You only need to season on one side. If you want them a bit crunchier cut them smaller. Bake for 12-15 minutes flip them and bake them for another 12-15 minutes. (450 degrees)

They have become my “junk food.” I literally (sorry Zang) eat them 4 times per day. I do not want you to think I am weird for sweet potatoes but I did recently become upset at the Piggly Wiggly because they were out of stock.

Give these a try. Experiment until you find a seasoning you like. This is a great way to get your vegetables into your day. Feed them to your children. They will love them and perhaps one day they will write a poem about how excellent you are.

Enjoy! -Clint

One comment on “Sweet Potatoes:Truth in Advertising!

  1. hootfish says:

    Mr. Clint Flay, I love the healthy sweet potato fries I truly do. My oldest said, “Those look really good, are you making them right now?” My two youngest I would have to tie to the bumper of the car and starve for 3 or 4 days before force feeding them a couple of those fries. Joe however was impressed with your recipe too πŸ™‚ Keep experimenting and putting yummy pictures up.

    ~Steph

    P.S. Love the natural happy face that little dude has on him. It’s uncanny how you found such a perfect sweet potato for this photo op. πŸ˜›

    Like

Leave a Reply

