That Unicorn Stole my Diet Coke!

coke bong

I try to learn something about healthy living each day. That was my intention today but I came up very short. I wanted to find out “the truth” about diet soda. I read many things on the internet and my head is simply spinning.

Many people say it is a terrible thing to put in your body. The thing is you can also find little medical proof to support those opinions. The WWW is a huge place so maybe I just didn’t find this evidence.

If that is the case please point me in the correct direction.

I found one study that claims diet soda leads to depression:

“In a study of 263,925 adults aged 51-70, individuals who drank soda were 30% more likely to be diagnosed with depression over a period of 10 years.”

That was on a site called “Authority Nutrition” but it did not really give credit to where the study came from. That is kind of frustrating………

Dr. Lisa Young made this comment to the New York Daily News on the subject:

“I’m not a fan of diet soda, but I don’t think it’s the soda alone that’s causing depression,” she told the Daily News. “The thing about soda is, you don’t often drink it alone — you drink it with junk food. You’re not getting enough fiber and protein with that sugar, and your blood sugar not being stable could throw off your mood.”

I feel like if I called Dr. Lisa to confirm that 2 + 2 = 4 she would not immediately say it did.

I still assume diet soda is bad to drink in volume. It adds all kinds of chemicals to you body so that is not good. I just wish I could find specific things, a real cause and affect type of deal.

I feel like I am trying to catch a unicorn in this search.

The one chemical that gets singled out for evil-ness is aspartame.

Aspartame (APM; /ˈæspərteɪm/ or /əˈspɑrteɪm/) is an artificial, non-saccharide sweetener used as a sugar substitute in some foods and beverages. In the European Union, it is codified as E951. Aspartame is a methyl ester of the aspartic acid/phenylalanine dipeptide. It was first sold under the brand name NutraSweet; since 2009 it also has been sold under the brand name AminoSweet. It was first synthesized in 1965 and the patent expired in 1992.

The safety of aspartame has been the subject of several political and medical controversies, congressional hearings and Internet hoaxes[3][4][5] since its initial approval for use in food products by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in 1981.[6] A 2007 medical review on the subject concluded that “the weight of existing scientific evidence indicates that aspartame is safe at current levels of consumption as a non-nutritive sweetener”.[7] However, because its breakdown products include phenylalanine, aspartame must be avoided by people with the genetic condition phenylketonuria (PKU).

Even this description reminds me of someone trying to sell me some awesome products from Amway. (not that there is anything wrong with that)

My conclusion today is I think diet soda while tasting better than water is kind of naughty. I will try to limit my intake and not invest in a diet coke bong.

If you have an opinion or better yet any tangible proof on this subject I surely want to hear from you. -Clint

5 comments on “That Unicorn Stole my Diet Coke!

  1. hootfish says:

    So, here is some info that is the type of thing I was searching for. Check it out. Pretty interesting stuff.

    http://nutritionfacts.org/video/aspartame-induced-fibromyalgia/

    Like

  2. Stephanie says:

    It’s frustrating when you find more questions than answers. Good research 🙂

    Like

  3. Karen says:

    I’m a bariatric patient, so I know only have a little stomach. For me, and carbonated drinks are a no-no, diet or otherwise. I can’t tolerate sugar, so non-diet soda is totally out, but it’s the gas that causes us issues. And for us, even diet soda can be a huge contributor to weight loss patients regaining weight. It stretches our tiny stomachs and allows us to eat more- which will defy the object.
    Carbonated drinks cause gas in the stomach and so on, so that’s why I can’t drink it.

    Like

    • hootfish says:

      Hi Karen,

      I totally agree with you. Soda is out for me as well. Clint however is just a diet and exercise guy so I understand him wanting a soda now and then. Thankfully, I was never really a soda drinker pre-surgery either.

      ~Steph

      Like

Leave a Reply

