You Are Bad News White-y

bad

Today I decided to learn more about food. Glycemic index within food to be specific. After reading a bunch and listening to doctors on you tube, this is the best way I can understand it. Foods are given a glycemic index value base on the following.

Classifying foods based on how quickly they cause a rise in blood sugar upon being eaten. Foods high in glycemic index value cause blood sugar to fall causing fatigue and hunger.

Sugar and white bread are considered reference foods and have been assigned a glycemic index value of 100.

A few other foods that are high?

Waffles (76)
Corn flakes (93) ………..that one surprised me
Instant oatmeal (83)
Fruit Roll Ups (99)…whoa!
Baked Russet Potato (111)….holy crap!!

Ok, we can see where this is going. Carbs and things that taste good are bad for us? (sorry everyone that……you know likes food)

One of the most interesting things in my reading was the difference in vegetables. I had heard the rumors that all vegetables are not good for you in high volumes. The following list gives some credibility to that.

Vegetable GI Guide
Low Glycemic Index Vegetables (under 20)

Asparagus
Bean sprouts
Beet greens
Broccoli
Cabbage
Cauliflower
Celery
Cucumber
Endive lettuce
Mustard greens
Radishes
Spinach
Swiss chard
Watercress

Medium Glycemic Index Vegetables (20-60)

Aubergine
Beets
Brusselsprouts
Chives
Collard greens
Dandelion leaves
Greens
Kale
Kohlrabi
Leeks
Okra
Onions
Parsley
Peas
Peppers
Pimento
Pumpkin
Rutabagas
String beans
Turnips

High Glycemic Index Vegetables (over 60)

Artichokes
Carrot
Corn
Dried beans
Lima beans
Oyster plant
Parsnips
Potato
Squash
Sweet potato
Yam

The last couple listed on the high side actually cause some personal problems for me. At this point I would be comfortable calling myself a straight up sweet potato addict. I eat them usually 4 times a day. Hmmmmmmmmm. They have basically become the thing that allows me to stay on track each and every day. I need to speak to someone smarter than me about this.

So what does this all mean? For me it means I have more information to make better choices. When deciding what I eat I probably wouldn’t make major changes in what I do right now but one could easily choose asparagus over corn.

The little things do add up. These changes are starting to pile up. While I have limited and almost cut out things like white bread already……I now feel much more conviction in that quest. I can’t say I will never eat white bread again. However I probably will never eat it and be happy about it.

3 comments on “You Are Bad News White-y

  1. hootfish says:

    Clint my enlightened one,
    What on earth is an aubergine???
    ~Steph

    Like

    • hootfish says:

      Hello Steph, it is an eggplant. Of course your next question is….why does it not say eggplant. Probably the same reason I really liked the movie “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure” I will admit however, that “Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey” sucked.

      Like

Leave a Reply

