Fructose is Also a Naughty F-Word

F Liar
Bahahahahahahahaha

The excellent Stephanie and I talk of this My Fitness Pal thing often. On there you can find endless amounts of info and ideas. I from time to time will look through the chat topics mining for health gold. I call it that as you need to weed through a lot of junk to find it. Mostly people being a-holes to other people in the way that it happens on the net. (you know, brave due to accountability issues) This morning I read a post talking about a 70 calorie jello cup thing. It basically said despite it being only 70 calories it was very bad in the quest to lose weight because of the high amount of fructose in it.

I was familiar with the word and associated it with bad for you but I had no knowledge past that.

fructose (frkts)
A simple sugar (monosaccharide) found in honey, many fruits, and some vegetables. Fructose linked to glucose is the structure of table sugar, or sucrose. Fructose is an important source of energy for cellular processes. Chemical formula: C6H12O6.

This is added to food for flavoring obviously. The American Medical Association did a study on it’s impact on obesity just this year.

Here is the text that made me understand what the point was.

The data “surely suggest that it’s probably not in your best interest to have high fructose-containing drinks because they’re not going to cause you to be full, and you’ll tend to consume more calories,” said Robert Sherwin, a professor of medicine at Yale University School of Medicine in New Haven, Connecticut, in a telephone interview.

Best I can tell is it is a problem within your head. This fructose stuff does not stop telling your body to stop being hungry……so you eat more. That makes a great deal of sense to me. I can easily relate it to my experience. I eat almost entirely non processed whole foods. I eat small amounts 5 times a day. (actually a lot of food but small in calories) The fact is I am rarely hungry under my current program. Back in the fast food era I seemed to be ALWAYS HUNGRY.

Perhaps now I know why? Enjoy the Tip! -Clint

One comment on “Fructose is Also a Naughty F-Word

  1. Stephanie says:

    Really cool info. Thanks for filling us in 🙂 We always hear what we shouldn’t eat but, seldom a detailed answer as to why we shouldn’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

