A great way to portion control and still enjoy yourself at a Mexican restaurant. By: Steph

Taco Salad

Taco Salad

tostada

tostada

taco

taco


I love Mexican food, it’s in my genes 🙂 I am half Mexican and half Portuguese. Trips to a Mexican restaurant are hard for me because, I want everything that’s delicious and bad for me all on one plate. I have learned that if I want a small splurge, I will allow myself 10 tortilla chips (depending on size of course) and a taco a la carte. It’s a great way to portion control your food and get something delicious at the same time.

Restaurant portions are out of control. If you order a taco salad you are in for a massive amount of food heaped with toppings. If you go smaller and order a tostada it’s smaller but, still a lot of excess. However you can turn a simple taco into a meal by opening it up spreading the ingredients around on the shell and if need be you can ask for some extra lettuce and tomato. Restaurants typically do not charge for the extra veggies and it bulks it up if you feel like you need more food. I take a wedge of lemon or lime, a TBL of guacamole (love it) and a TBL or two of salsa mix it up and dress my makeshift salad. If I’ve indulged in chips I leave the shell if not I will often eat part of it with the salad. I usually snag the guacamole off of my husbands plate so no extra charge there 🙂

A tasty & filling, portion controlled lunch for under $4.00 can’t really beat that.

~Steph

P.S. Is anyone else hungry now?

One comment on “A great way to portion control and still enjoy yourself at a Mexican restaurant. By: Steph

  1. hootfish says:

    This is as excellent of a tip as I have seen in a while. Changing a taco into a meal……nice. I would probably do this one right here. Thanks Steph. -Clint

    Like

Leave a Reply

