Getting back on Track and making it easy for myself :) By: Steph

lunchsnacks

Ever noticed that you can totally eat within your calorie goals and not come near eating healthy? Well I have noticed it and so has my body! I started in January 2012 by upping my protein, lowering (not eliminating) my carbs, switching to whole grains, adding fruits and veggies, weighing and measuring my foods, logging every bite that went into my mouth on a fitness website (where I met my amazing co-blogger) and exercising a minimum of 4 days per week. Slowly the carbs have reached out, grabbed me by the ankles and sucked me back into their twisted and delicious world! I don’t mean healthy carbs I mean empty carbs like crackers, sweets, candy and white breads. They are my weakness I am a junkie and I need a 47 step program that concludes with a very large man following me around with a mallet and smacking me over the head everytime I count out a serving of crack…ers!

I am rededicating myself to my original plan. I allow “fun foods” in moderation but, maybe 15% of my diet rather than 85%. So this weekend I went out and purchased quality foods that I enjoy and that will help me to head in the right direction. This morning I cooked and measured out lunches for the rest of the week and cut a tray of veggies for the whole family. I grabbed some healthy and yummy “dips” for the veggies, such as single servings of hummus and 100 calorie packs of guacamole. I bought my favorite oranges (Cara Cara best oranges ever!), kiwis, bananas, apples, and grapes. I prepped everything so it’s grab and go. Jerky for when I feel the need to “snack” and a mix of dried cranberries, blueberries, almonds, pumpkin seeds, and edamame which I sectioned off and weighed out before putting them in a ziplock snack bag and putting my single servings back in the original container so I don’t “graze” as I get my snack out. Did I just reveal my OCD personality to you??? I feel so positive about this day of prep pushing me to eat healthier not just in calorie range. Plus my fridge is too full of all this healthy junk that I’d have to store any fun foods in the washer and dryer and that’s just weird!

I played amatuer photographer and will be modeling my food choices for your viewing pleasure. The second pic is my beautiful veggie tray and the first is my lunch (low sodium teriyaki chicken breast with steamed veggies a Cara Cara orange and my herbal tea). Feel free to drool, ooohhh and aaaahhh at my 240 calorie lunch packed with 17 grams of protein! What, you want to hire me as your personal chef??? Oh okay as long as you pay me an embarrassingly naughty amount of money! LOL Okay so it’s a simple lunch but, it makes me happy! I’d show you my happy dance but, then you’d know I have no coordination and you might abandon me!

Here’s to an awesome week of renewed focus and health!

~Steph

Leave a Reply

